Daily Prompt: Interior

via Daily Prompt: Interior

Some years ago, I was posted to an interior district of Tamilnadu, India. I searched for a suitable accommodation nearby my place of work. The municipality supplied water only for a short duration of time, that too for only three days a week. I was stunned. Is there a well to supplement the water supplied by the municipality? “Yes. There is a well, but”, the landlord continued apologetically, “there is no water in the well”. Intrigued, I asked him, “Why no water?”. I was astonished by what he said. “Sir”, he replied in a pathetic tone, “we are in one of the interior districts far away from the sea coast. There are no mountains to stop the rain-carrying clouds. We get rain only when there is a storm. In some years we go without rain. We preserve the water supplied by the municipality for drinking purpose only. There is a well with perennial supply of water about ten kilometres from our village. Water is brought from there in bullock-carts and sold for a price”. I reckoned that people would be spending a considerable part of their income for buying water alone. Returning to Madras (now Chennai), I never wasted a single drop of water in my house though the supply was abundant.

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Interior

  1. That’s commendable Sir. I think we should all understand just how precious water is. I save my RO’s waste water in a drum and use it cleaning the floors. It’s gratifying to know that we are helping Mother Nature in some way, no matter how small the contribution may be 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

